COVER REVEAL: The New Electrical Menagerie

#WIPJoy 5 Senses Character Portrait

The Electrical Menagerie is a lovely book by indie author Mollie E. Reeder. I've written a full length review here and included this book in my top ten best indie author books I read in 2018. This year the author comissed a new cover by artist Kirk DouPonce from DogEared Designs. I am in love with the new cover for this novel! I think it reflects the magical uplifting story contained within.

For fans of Caraval and The Greatest Showman: a quest for fame and fortune in a stardust-powered empire brings debt, scandal, and danger in spades.

The Electrical Menagerie, one-of-a-kind robotic roadshow, is bankrupt.

Sylvester Carthage, illusionist and engineer, has the eccentric imagination the Menagerie needs to succeed creatively — but none of the people skills. Fast-talking Arbrook Huxley, meanwhile, has all the savvy the Menagerie needs to succeed commercially — but none of the scruples.

To save their show, Carthage & Huxley stake everything in a royal talent competition, vying for the once-in-a-lifetime chance to perform for the Future Celestial Queen. In this stardust-and-spark-powered empire of floating islands and flying trains, the Menagerie's bid at fame and fortune means weathering the glamorous and cutthroat world of critics, high society, and rival magicians — but with real conspiracy lurking beneath tabloid controversy, there's more at stake in this contest than the prize.

Behind the glittery haze of flash paper and mirrors, every competitor has something to hide… and it’s the lies Carthage & Huxley tell each other that may cost them everything.

Tell me what you think about the new cover in the comments below!

Share This Post...

.

Read More Articles

  • Book Review: Redwall

    Last year, I rated The Wendy as one of my top indie reads! Now comes the sequel, The Navigator! Here is an excerpt from my review of The Wendy: "There is a difference between retelling a story and recapturing the essence which made it wonderful. This novel manages to do both." Read more

  • Create Feedback

    From the author of Fairest Son (review here!) comes the beginning of an epic saga, MOONSCRIPT! I've been following along on H.S.J....Read more

  • <em>Edit Promo Post</em> Free Short Stories

    Derek Morgan dove for cover behind the nearest crates. Plasma bolts sizzled as they struck the side of the crates. "We need to get out of here."

    Dax Fabrice ripped a piece of patchtape off of the roll with his teeth and stuck it onto the...Read more