COVER REVEAL: The New Electrical Menagerie

Book Review: Dragon School: First Flight

The Electrical Menagerie is a lovely book by indie author Mollie E. Reeder. I've written a full length review here and included this book in my top ten best indie author books I read in 2018. This year the author comissed a new cover by artist Kirk DouPonce from DogEared Designs. I am in love with the new cover for this novel! I think it reflects the magical uplifting story contained within.

For fans of Caraval and The Greatest Showman: a quest for fame and fortune in a stardust-powered empire brings debt, scandal, and danger in spades.

The Electrical Menagerie, one-of-a-kind robotic roadshow, is bankrupt.

Sylvester Carthage, illusionist and engineer, has the eccentric imagination the Menagerie needs to succeed creatively — but none of the people skills. Fast-talking Arbrook Huxley, meanwhile, has all the savvy the Menagerie needs to succeed commercially — but none of the scruples.

To save their show, Carthage & Huxley stake everything in a royal talent competition, vying for the once-in-a-lifetime chance to perform for the Future Celestial Queen. In this stardust-and-spark-powered empire of floating islands and flying trains, the Menagerie's bid at fame and fortune means weathering the glamorous and cutthroat world of critics, high society, and rival magicians — but with real conspiracy lurking beneath tabloid controversy, there's more at stake in this contest than the prize.

Behind the glittery haze of flash paper and mirrors, every competitor has something to hide… and it’s the lies Carthage & Huxley tell each other that may cost them everything.

Tell me what you think about the new cover in the comments below!

Share This Post...

.

Read More Articles

  • <em>Edit Promo Post</em> Maiden Of Iron Grand Prize Review

    Steampunk combines my love of Victorian aesthetics and machines with science fiction and fantasy elements. I have a peculiar fondness for sentient robots and steampunk novels seem to have plenty of them.

    I like the many variants including...Read more

  • Create Promo Post

    The novelette Questions started out as a short story written in the spur of the moment.

    I had come upon an article talking about the chemical, emotional and social reasons for kissing. I ran with the idea and wanted to create a backdrop that provided a good juxtaposition. So the short story was about a child who wanted to know why people kissed. I added three mothers for the child and left the child's gender mostly unknown. As the story progressed, you learned that this was a female humanoid child who was supposed to be emotionless and the mothers were Grays.

    Later I took this short story and began to develop it into the novelette it is now. I did research on the Grays and the most common characteristic. I wondered what would hypothetically cause an alien to evolve in this manner and how could it survive?Read more

  • Interview with Traitor Author Laurie Lucking

    I am so excited to be working on the final revision of the Rise Of The Shadow Lord. With 52 chapters outlined and 29 chapters completed, I am happy to say I have reached the 55% completed mark.  I recently had the chance to make a big dent...Read more