COVER REVEAL: The New Electrical Menagerie

Home

The Electrical Menagerie is a lovely book by indie author Mollie E. Reeder. I've written a full length review here and included this book in my top ten best indie author books I read in 2018. This year the author comissed a new cover by artist Kirk DouPonce from DogEared Designs. I am in love with the new cover for this novel! I think it reflects the magical uplifting story contained within.

For fans of Caraval and The Greatest Showman: a quest for fame and fortune in a stardust-powered empire brings debt, scandal, and danger in spades.

The Electrical Menagerie, one-of-a-kind robotic roadshow, is bankrupt.

Sylvester Carthage, illusionist and engineer, has the eccentric imagination the Menagerie needs to succeed creatively — but none of the people skills. Fast-talking Arbrook Huxley, meanwhile, has all the savvy the Menagerie needs to succeed commercially — but none of the scruples.

To save their show, Carthage & Huxley stake everything in a royal talent competition, vying for the once-in-a-lifetime chance to perform for the Future Celestial Queen. In this stardust-and-spark-powered empire of floating islands and flying trains, the Menagerie's bid at fame and fortune means weathering the glamorous and cutthroat world of critics, high society, and rival magicians — but with real conspiracy lurking beneath tabloid controversy, there's more at stake in this contest than the prize.

Behind the glittery haze of flash paper and mirrors, every competitor has something to hide… and it’s the lies Carthage & Huxley tell each other that may cost them everything.

Tell me what you think about the new cover in the comments below!

Share This Post...

I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for me to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.

Read More Articles

  • COVER REVEAL: The New Electrical Menagerie

    The first Danger Boy book in the series got me hooked right away. I found them (or my mom found them) at the Mount Vernon library when I was about 14 years old. The foil hardback covers instantly intrigued me so I made sure to check out the second book just in case I wanted it that week.

    Ancient Fire brings our time traveling heroes Eli, Thea and Thea and Clyne together for the first time. The historical set is the burning of the library of Alexandria, a moment in history abhorred by book lovers everywhere. It deals with the real life reactions of youth and adults to fantastically situations. It is a one of a kind children's time travel adventure novel. The read level makes it suitable for beginning chapter book readers and the plot makes it suitable for all ages. It makes you laugh and is a real page turner. My youngest sister read it and loved it just as much as I did! Read more

  • COVER REVEAL: The New Electrical Menagerie

    Derek Morgan dove for cover behind the nearest crates. Plasma bolts sizzled as they struck the side of the crates. "We need to get out of here."

    Dax Fabrice ripped a piece of patchtape off of the roll with his teeth and stuck it onto the...Read more

  • COVER REVEAL: The New Electrical Menagerie

    The novelette Questions started out as a short story written in the spur of the moment.

    I had come upon an article talking about the chemical, emotional and social reasons for kissing. I ran with the idea and wanted to create a backdrop that provided a good juxtaposition. So the short story was about a child who wanted to know why people kissed. I added three mothers for the child and left the child's gender mostly unknown. As the story progressed, you learned that this was a female humanoid child who was supposed to be emotionless and the mothers were Grays.

    Later I took this short story and began to develop it into the novelette it is now. I did research on the Grays and the most common characteristic. I wondered what would hypothetically cause an alien to evolve in this manner and how could it survive?Read more